Short Stories

The Sleepwalker

Have you ever seen a sleepwalker in the middle of their trance? It’s probably one of the creepiest things that I’ve ever experienced, so, just in case you’re wondering, I’d like to tell you about it.

It was 9:30 p.m. My parents were out on a date, and I had put my little sister to bed about an hour before. I was lying on the couch, watching TV, and minding my own business. You can imagine how horrified I was when, after hearing the slightest sound, I turned to see my sister’s head hovering above the couch. She was looking at me without really seeing me, like I was transparent. Her hair was a mess, and her face was crimson and covered in sweat. Taking a moment to catch my breath, I studied her more still. She just stood there, looking through me with that creepy, vacant stare.

I asked her what was wrong. No reply. The creepy vacant stare continued. Then I told her to go back to bed, hoping that would be the end of it. Still no answer, no movement, nothing. I couldn’t help myself; I started laughing at her. It was just the weirdest thing I had ever seen. Suddenly, she got angry at me for laughing. She yelled,  “It’s not funny, Cori!” and stomped back to her bedroom.

Trying to recover from the strangeness of it all, I listened for a moment to make sure she had safely returned to bed,  then returned to watching my television show, just a little bit wiser on the subject of sleepwalking.

Do you know a sleepwalker? Someone who walks down the stairs when they’re not awake? Someone who yells at you in their sleep? Tell me about if you want me to write about it. 

Leave a Reply

